Skip To Main Content

Paths to QUALITY


Unified Champions

Mt. Vernon Early Learning Academy Mini-Marauder Preschool first received our Level 3 Paths to QUALITY Certification in September 2020. We are proud that we continue to maintain Level 3 status.

Research overwhelming demonstrates that high-quality early childhood programs prepare children for future success in school, work, and life. In the first five years of life, children's brains undergo exponential development. The brain develops in reaction to the environment, and experiences in a preschool program can contribute to that brain development. Quality rating and improvement systems measure performance in early childhood programs to ensure quality care for children.

The Mini-Marauder Preschool is rated Level 3 out of four levels on the Paths to QUALITY rating system by the state of Indiana. States across the nation use quality rating and improvement systems; Paths to QUALITY is Indiana's Child Care Quality Rating and Improvement System. Our rating validates the effort put forth by our teachers and staff to ensure that your child receives quality care, including a healthy and safe environment, planned curriculum, and an environment that supports children's learning.

Each of the four levels of Paths to QUALITY addresses higher standards of care in early learning.

Level 1: Health and safety needs of children are met

  • Meets basic health and safety requirements
  • Staff are trained in First Aid, CPR, Child Development, Nutrition, and Health and Safety
  • Classrooms are monitored annually to ensure compliance with licensing regulations

Level 2: Environment supports children's learning

  • Provide a consistent daily schedule
  • Plan activities for children
  • Provide relevant program information for families

Level 3: Planned curriculum guides child development and school readiness

  • Implement a planned curriculum to guide learning
  • Provides professional development for staff to increase quality care and learning
  • Incorporate family and staff input into their program

Level 4: National accreditation (the highest indicator of quality) is achieved

  • Program seeks and achieves accreditation by a nationally recognized body of accreditation, such as NAEYC (The National Association for the Education of Young Children)
  • The ten standards of accreditation with NAEYC include: Relationships, Curriculum, Teaching, Assessment of Child Progress, Health, Staff Competencies, Preparation, and Support, Families, Community Relationships, Physical Environment, and Leadership and Management

For more information on the State of Indiana's Voluntary Rating System, please visit here.

Paths to QUALITY Rating System